Lawhill Maritime Educational Trust

About Lawhill Maritime Educational Trust

The main purpose of the Lawhill Maritime Educational Trust – Registration no: IT002473/2015 – is to provide support to the STS Lawhill Maritime Centre in Simon’s Town.

As an independent body, the Trust has an important role to play in supporting maritime-related education in South Africa and, in particular, among learners at the STS Lawhill Maritime Centre ( which has, over the past two decades, built an excellent track record of enthusing and equipping young people – many from indigent homes – for worthwhile and potentially lucrative careers in the maritime industry at sea or ashore.

The Trust is managed by well-known and highly respected members of the industry who serve as Trustees in a voluntary capacity.  The present Chairman of the Trust is Mr Johan Swart and the vice chairman, Tobela Gqabu (an alumnus of the LMC programme and the school’s first Master Mariner).   The remaining trustees are Mr Nils Warner, Mr Andy Maclennan, Mr Dave Murray and Mr Simon Pearson.

Email to request further details on the Trust.